Edina Schools Approves 4.75% Tax Levy Increase
The Edina Public Schools School Board approved a preliminary tax levy certification Tuesday that will increase property taxes by 4.75% for taxes payable in 2026.
The board unanimously approved the levy during a special meeting, with enrollment projected at 8,740 students for the upcoming school year. The operating referendum is expected to generate $918,433 in new revenue, according to the district's Director of Finance and Operations.
The overall levy increase represents approximately $2 million in new funding for district operations. The capital projects levy, used primarily for technology purposes, will increase by 3.12% to $9.47 million. The debt service fund will see a 5.73% increase of just over $1 million to cover scheduled principal and interest payments on six outstanding general obligation bonds.
The district must certify its preliminary levy by the state-mandated September 30 deadline. Property owners will receive parcel-specific notices from Hennepin County in early November detailing how the levy affects individual properties.
The school board will hold a required truth and taxation hearing on December 8 before certifying the final levy for the 2025-26 school year. The district noted that other local jurisdictions have approved higher preliminary levy increases, with the City of Edina approving an 11.03% increase and Hennepin County approving a 7.79% increase.
Our proprietary artificial intelligence agent analyzed publicly available documents including meeting agendas, minutes, and transcripts to write this story to help inform local residents. Feedback helps us improve, so please consider rating how we did with the thumbs up or down below.
Go deeper on this topic
Research related meeting documents and build a brief — without rewriting the story.
Full analysis
Votes (2)
Approval of Agenda
Dissent: None
Moved by Dan Arum [Timestamp not specified] · Seconded by Erica Ellenberg [Timestamp not specified]
Standard procedural motion to approve the meeting agenda.
Preliminary Levy Certification for Property Taxes Payable in 2026
Dissent: None
Moved by Ruby [Timestamp not specified] · Seconded by Erica Ellenberg [Timestamp not specified]
Director of Finance and Operations presented comprehensive levy analysis covering: (1) General Fund revenue increase of 4.8% ($918,433 from operating referendum); (2) Capital Projects/Tech Levy increase of 3.12% to $9,470,865; (3) Community Service Fund decrease of $133,000 due to prior-year adjustments; (4) Debt Service Fund increase of 5.73% ($1 million+) for scheduled principal and interest payments on six general obligation bonds through 2038. Student enrollment projected at 8,740 ADM (adjusted daily membership), up from 8,670 in prior year. Per-pupil authority estimated at $2,234.89. Overall levy increase of 4.75% compared to 4.88% prior year and 5.27% two years prior, returning to historical 4-5% range. Context provided on comparable jurisdictions: City of Medina preliminary levy increase of 11.03%; Hennepin County increase of 7.79%. Truth and Taxation hearing scheduled for December 8th with final certification vote same evening.
Notable Quotes (4)
the vast majority of the levy categories are in part or fully dependent on student enrollment. Um and some of the revenue that we get more than 85% is tied directly to student enrollment.
we're highly confident that the final figures that you'll see in December will be within 10 basis points of the numbers in the report that you're viewing today.
we're heading back to that kind of normal range of between four and 5% that we've seen historically over the last 10 years.
More than 50% of our general fund revenue is tied in some way to voter approval. Primarily our operating referendum authority and capital projects levy.
Ordinances & Resolutions (2)
Department of Education report detailing preliminary levy categories and limitations; presented at September 8th meeting; final figures expected in December with confidence of within 10 basis points accuracy
Formal certification of maximum property tax levy authority for school district operations in the 2025-2026 school year; requires board approval by September 30th deadline
Source document
Was this story helpful?
Other Topics from This Document
Preliminary Levy Certification for Property Taxes Payable in 2026
Want to know when new stories arrive?
Enter your email to receive updates.
We will not use your email for any other purpose. You can unsubscribe at any time.